Second week in Quito

My WiFi kind of sucks… and when I do have WiFi, I use it to turn in my homeworks.

This week the girls in my Sexual Health program visited a public high school to see where we would be teaching about sexual health. Also, we toured CEMOPLAF – the organization we will be interning at, which is somewhat a Planned Parenthood.

Also, our Spanish class took a day-trip to the equator – legit. 

Excerpt from my weekly PJHC reflection assignment:

As I researched about Ecuador, I realized that the economy underwent dollarization in 2000. With the dollarization, I am able to immediately compare the prices here in Ecuador to those of the USA. My Spanish professors described this dollarization process as one of the most difficult times in their lives. As I thought about the devastation they went through, I just couldn’t believe it. They described how the exchange rate was 25,000 sucres (former currency) to one dollar. This rate drastically hurt the population, and the one thing that was immediately noticed was everyone losing their homes, cars, or other property. Although it’s been 14 years since the change, my professors talk about how some families never recovered from the dollarization.

Although I have only been in this beautiful country for two weeks, I have truly seen a lot. I live in the center of Quito – the second largest city in Ecuador and its capital. To go to work, I walk 15-20 minutes then take the metrobus for another 15-20 minutes. Until I traveled this past weekend, I did realize that this city can deceive one. To get to the travel buses, I had to take two trole buses (another public transportation) for about an hour and a half. In this journey, I saw way more of Quito than I had my first week. I saw run-downed business, homes, and unfinished construction. Also, I saw homeless people for the first time since arriving. I saw conditions worse than I had seen in the most run-downed parts of Houston. 

Leave a Reply

